Back to All Events

Asheville Symphony presents Masterworks 2: Journeys

Rei Hotoda, conductor
Sandeep Das, tabla

Dvorák Carnival Overture
Wijeratne Concerto for Tabla & Orchestra
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

I believe music has the power to take audiences on journeys that inspire, challenge and engage. In this program we travel to a world without boundaries. Dvorák’s Carnival Overture sets the tone for our travels. Of this work he said: “the city at nightfall, where a carnival is in full swing. On every side is heard the clangor of instruments, mingled with shouts of joy…of people giving vent to their feelings.” From Bohemia to India in Dinuk Wijeratne’s stunning Concerto for Tabla and Orchestra, with master tabla player, Sandeep Das. A dynamic blend of traditional Indian music infused with familiar Western melodic techniques. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5, a powerful symphonic tapestry depicting the composer’s struggles, joys and triumphs, is our final destination. —Rei Hotoda

Learn more here.